Browse Database Tool (& Merging Locations)

Browse Database Tool – Overview

Tool Location 1:

The tool can be launched from the Location Explorer.

Locations > Location Explorer > User Action (Search and Click on a location, the press the Browse Database button)

Tool Location 2:

The tool can also be launched from the Location Editor.

Locations > Location Explorer > Location Editor > Browse Database

The browse database tool is a tool used by more advanced users. It allows user to select a location and then have SiteFX scan all database tables looking for data that is associated with that location.  Furthermore, the tool has a Merge Mode that allows two locations to be pulled up side by side for comparison and/or merging of data.

A screenshot of the tool is shown below.

image

Browse Database Tools – Features

Search

When you start the form directly from the Location Explorer or Location Editor, the Search option is not used.

However, if you wish, you can search for locations directly on this form. Choose whether you wish to search on just the Location Name, or all location name and ID fields (potentially slower). Next enter the text to search on in the Name text box and press the Find button.

Manage

When viewing available data and merging data, you must decide whether you wish to work at the Location level or the Interval level. If you choose Interval, the Interval list becomes active. See screenshots below.

image

Working at the Location level

image

Working at the Interval level (Interval list now active)

When in Interval mode, you must select an Interval from the Interval list in order to view all available data.

Merge Mode

When merge mode is turned on, the form expands to the right and allows a second location to be browsed. When in merge mode, simply select a location from the Location Explorer and press the Browse Database button. SiteFX will ask whether you wish to add the location to the left hand side or the right hand side of the form. More details are followed in the following sections.

Status

This area displays a status message while searching the database for data.

Record Count

You can choose whether to show the record count or not. Counting records can be slow on large databases but typically it can be left on.

Related Data

All found data is displayed in the Related Data section. The database table names are shown, along with a count of how many records (rows) of data there are. The database table names may be a little cryptic to some users. These are the actual underlying database table names. If you have any doubts, please contact EarthFX.

Browse Database Tool – Merge Location Data

When Merge Mode is turned on, you have the ability to view two locations (or intervals) side by side on the form and move data from one to the other. The form in Merge Mode looks like the following:

image

 

View Two Location / Interval Data Together

When Merge Mode is turned on, you can view 2 location or interval data together. Press on View button below location 1 (or Interval 1) and location 2 (or Interval 2) to see the Data Viewer form as shown below. You can also view data by clicking on the View buttons in the Related Data section.

When "Scroll Together" is checked, you can move the scroll bar on one table and the other scroll bar on the second table can move at the same time. When "Change Column Width Together" is checked, the width of both tables can be changed together.

image

 

Merge Data

In the bottom half of the form, called Related Data, you have the ability to View, Delete, or Move data.  Simply click the check boxes and then press Apply.

The check box Leave means not to move or delete the data.

The check box Delete means to delete the data from the table.

The check box Move Right (or Move Left) means to move data from the data from one location (or interval) to another.

After the data is deleted or moved, click the same interval on right and left to refresh  the data.

The Move Right (or Move Left) button below Intervals list allows to move all data of one interval in one location to another location.

You likely want to make a backup of your database prior to performing any merging in case mistakes are made.