Site Management

Site Management - Overview

Tool Location:

Locations > Site List

The term ‘Site’ can have different meaning in different contexts. A site can be a project, a study, a natural or political boundary or indeed a physical site or property

The EarthFX data model was constructed to handle the data for multiple sites. Each chemistry, water level, geology record etc. is associated with a location which is in turn associated with a site.

For each site, a site contact can be recorded. It is not uncommon for some users to only ever have one Site in your database. Also, some users may prefer to have a separate database for each site. There are pros and cons of each.

Site Management - General Usage

image

 

Use the buttons across the bottom to Add, Delete, and Edit site information

Site Management - Notes/Tips

·         Some users may wish to think of a Site as a project.

·         There are several other ways to group your locations besides site. These include Area, Study and Location Groups. Make sure you learn each of these methods before sorting your location into separate Sites. One of the other methods may provide the desired results and be better suited to your needs.

·         Caution! Deleting sites will have a cascading effect. For example, all locations related to a site will become deleted if the site is deleted.

Site Management – Adding Sites

1.        Press the Add New button. The form fields will be cleared. The Add New button will now read Register.

2.        Fill in the fields as appropriate.

3.        Press the Register button to finish.

Site Management – Editing Site Information

Site information can be edited by selecting the correct site in the List of Available Sites box and pressing the Edit button. The Edit button will then read Register. Change the information as required and press the Register button when finished.

Site Management – Deleting Sites and Site Projects

Site projects can be deleted anytime by selecting the appropriate site in the List of Available Sites box and pressing the Delete button. A message box will appear asking you to confirm deletion. Press Yes to delete.

Caution! Deleting sites will have a cascading effect. For example, all locations related to a site will become deleted if the site is deleted.